With funding from The Jerome Foundation, The Cedar commissions local, emerging artists to compose and perform new music. 

Featured residency

Joey Van Phillips portrait
Wednesday, January 28th

A fusion of classical percussion and hip hop, this performance would consist of full percussion ensemble of 8-12 players providing live hip hop beats, playing the role that a DJ or traditional backing band typically might. This work will feature musicians JT Bates, Dave Hagedorn, Martin Dosh, Ryan Olcott, Peter Leggett, Aby Wolf, Joe Mabbott, Cory Healy, and Tim Glenn, and vocalists Dessa, POS, Joe Horton, Cecil Otter, Medium Zach, Sims, Omaur Bliss, Jacob Mullis, and Amy Hager of Fort Wilson Riot.